Nonsuch Primary School

Welcome to our website

Wood Leasow, Woodgate Valley,
Birmingham B32 3SE


Please check out the winning posters on our attendance page. Well done to everyone!



By the end of the EYFS year, our children are expected to achieve the seventeen Early Learning Goals which are fall within the seven areas of learning. The  seven areas of learning appear as two categories: Prime Areas of Learning and Specific Areas of Learning.


Prime Areas:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development


Specific Areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design.



Our teaching and learning focuses on ensuring children develop in a safe environment that supports their wellbeing and social skills, as well as their growing independence. 

We operate Continuous Provision with high-quality resources for the children through both in indoor and outdoor provision.  This supports the development of the Characteristics of Effective Learning: Playing and Exploring, Active Learning and Creating and Thinking Critically.


Phonics and Early Reading 

At Nonsuch Primary Schoolwe believe that all our children can become fluent readers and writers. This is why we teach reading through Little Wandle Letters and Sounds Revised, which is a systematic and synthetic phonics programme. We start teaching phonics in Reception and follow the Little Wandle Letters and Sounds Revised progression, which ensures children build on their growing knowledge of the alphabetic code, mastering phonics to read and spell as they move through school.

In EYFS we do Reading Practice Sessions three times per week. During these sessions we focus on decoding, prosody and comprehension. 



White Rose Maths Hub is a strategy employed to deliver mathematics within the Early Years Foundation Stage. The delivery of maths encompasses key small steps in learning throughout the year, allowing the clear progression of skills and knowledge. The approach to maths in EYFS is objective-led, direct teaching sessions. However, mathematics is also embedded within the continuous provision to ensure that children are able to consolidate their learning.



Talk for Writing has been implemented in EYFS.  Children compile their ideas orally before writing. To support this, key actions have been introduced to reinforce the oral retelling of a text. Children will then use this knowledge of the story and vocabulary to apply to their own writing.  

Curriculum Overview for Early Years Foundation Stage 

EYFS documents - click the links below:

EYFS Intent

Early Years Foundation Stage Policy


Wider Curriculum Progression - Whole School 

Our curriculum here at Nonsuch is based upon the EYFS Framework, as well as the National Curriculum. In order to ensure children remember what they have learnt and can absorb new knowledge into larger ideas, we have designed a clear and coherent subject-centered curriculum that starts from EYFS. Each subject is valued as its own discipline and has a knowledge and skills map, which is delivered through various exciting ways. Click the links below for the skills and knowledge maps: